s o u t h e a s t a s i a

| home |

| africa | america | asia | east asia | europe | oceania | SOUTH EAST ASIA |

| commemorative | hybrid | polymer | australia |

| a | b | c | d | e | f | g | h | i | j | k | l | m | n | o | p | q | r | s | t | u | v | w | x | y | z |

Looking for: Singapore $100 with two triangles. Please contact me if you have any spares. Thanks

Indonesia - Two-in-One Uncut Sheets Full Set 2016

Republik Indonesia
Republic of Indonesia

Bank Indonesia

A full set of 2016 2-in-1 uncut sheets. These notes were issued individually in a folder together with a certificate.

One Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
Two Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
Five Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
Ten Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
Twenty Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
Fifty Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016
One Hundred Thousand Rupiah
Dated 2016

Cambodia - 2015 & 2016 Prints King Norodom Sihamoni Coronation Celebration 2017

ព្រះរាជាណាចក្រកម្ពុជា / Kingdom of Cambodia

National Bank of Cambodia

These two notes were released into circulation on 25.10.2017 in time for the celebration of King Norodom Sihamoni's Coronation Anniversary. His Majesty was crowned on 29.10.2004. The 1000 Riels note is printed with the year date of 2016 and 2015 for the 5000 Riels note. Whilst some websites have reported these as commemorative notes, I doubt they are. I believe they were released to coincide with the Coronation Anniversary celebration.

One Thousand Riels

Dated 2016, P67
Five Thousand Riels
Dated 2015, P68

Thailand - 2018 Chakri Dynasty Series Reprints

Kingdom of Thailand

(Bank of Thailand)

These are three reprints of the Thailand's 17 series of notes first issued on 06/04/2018. Whilst the designs are the same as those issued earlier, these notes are all printed with new warning message for banknotes counterfeiting on the back. The new warning text is much shorter than the first print. Thailand is one of the very few country that all texts are still printed in Thai. The new warning text for these three notes are also the same as the two Chakri Dynasty series 500 and 1000 baht issued on 28/07/2018. The signatures on these 3 reprint notes are also the same as those previously issued. So, were those issued in April 2018 consider as error? If not, why the Bank of Thailand replaced these 3 notes so soon?
First print
Second print (see below)
Twenty Baht
Fifty Baht
One Hundred Baht

Malaysia - 60th Anniversary of the Signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement 5.8.1957, Hybrid Note Uncut

Malaya/Malaysia (since 1963)

60th Anniversary of the Signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement
This is the 60 Ringgit 3-in-1 uncut sheet commemorative Hybrid note that was released on the 25.01.2018, celebrating the 60th Year of the Signing of the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement 1957-2017. Only 6,000 sheets issued at an issue price of 500 Ringgit. This sheet is issued in a blue box and it also comes with an information card both in Bahasa and English. This set was sold out via a balloting system.

This uncut sheet was harder to get than the RM600 world largest note.

The independence agreement, dated 05.08.1957, was signed by the Malay Council of Rulers from the nine States, namely Johor, Kedah, Kelantan, Negeri Sembilan, Pahang, Perak, Perlis, Selangor and Terengganu together with the representative of Queen Elizabeth ll, Sir Donald MacGillivray, who was then the High Commissioner of the Federation of Malaya. The agreement was signed at the British Commissioner's residence in Kuala Lumpur, which then led to the independence of the Federation of Malaya on 31.08.1957.

This note is printed on Durasafe Hybrid materials, a composite of paper and polymer substrate.

The designs
14-pointed federal star(i) (featured on the royal headgear), the royal throne surrounded by a victory wheat wreath, portraits of 15 Yang di-Pertuan Agong positioned in a horse shoe shape, who have reigned since independence (1957) till the present day, starting from top L to R - Abdul Rahman(ii) of Negeri Sembilan (1957-1960), Hisamuddin(ii) of Selangor (1960), Putra of Perlis (1960-1965), Ismail Nasiruddin of Terengganu (1965-1970), Abdul Halim(iii) of Kedah (1970-1975), Yahya Petra(ii) of Kelantan (1975-1979), Ahmad Shah of Pahang (1979-1984), Iskandar of Johor (1984-1989), Azlan Shah of Perak (1989-1994), Ja'afar of Negri Sembilan (1994-1999), Salahuddin(ii) of Selangor (1999-2001), Sirajuddin of Perlis (2001-2006), Mizan Zainal Abidin of Terengganu (2006-2011), Abdul Halim(iii) of Kedah (2011-2016) and Muhammad V of Kelantan (since 2016). The term for the rotating Agong is fixed for 5 years. The note is also printed with the year dates of 1957-2017.

(i) 11-pointed federal star between 1957-1984; (ii) died in office; (iii) the one and only Sultan who had served two terms (5th & 14th Agong); Note: It's too long to have all the Sultan's full names listed here. I believe only four Sultans are still alive today from the above listing.

Sixty Ringgit
Dated 2017
Portraits of the all nine Rulers (Sultans/Raja) signing the Federation of Malaya Independence Agreement, Tunku Abdul Rahman Putra Al-Haj, the First Prime Minister of Malaya declaring independence, the National Palace, Perdana Putra (Federal Government office), the Parliament building (August House) and the Palace of Justice which represent the four pillars of the nation: the institution of the Monarchy, the Executive, the Legislature and the Judiciary respectively.

Information Card - Bahasa Malaysia
Information Card - English
The nine Rulers who signed the agreement were (from L-R, top to bottom):-
*Pahang - Sultan Abu Bakar Ri'ayatuddin Al-Muazzam Shah ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Abdullah Al-Mutasim Billah Shah (1932-1974);
*Negeri Sembilan - Yang Di-Pertuan Besar Tuanku Abdul Rahman ibni Almarhum Tuanku Muhammad (1933-1960). 1st Agong 1957-1960;
*Selangor - Sultan Hisamuddin Alam Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Alaeddin Sulaiman Shah (1938-1942, 1945-1960). 2nd Agong 1960;
*Kedah - Sultan Sir Badlishah ibni Almarhum Sultan Abdul Hamid Halim Shah (1943-1958);
*Kelantan - Paduka Sri Sultan Sir Ibrahim IV Petra ibni Almarhum Sultan Muhammad IV (1944-1960);
*Perlis - Tuanku Syed Harun Putra ibni Almarhum Syed Hassan Jamalullail (1945-2000). 3rd Agong 1960-1965;
*Terengganu - Sultan Ismail Nasiruddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Zainal Abidin III (1945-1979). 4th Agong 1965-1970;
*Perak - Sultan Yussuf Izzuddin Shah ibni Almarhum Sultan Abdul Jalil Karamatullah Nasiruddin Mukhataram Shah Radziallah (1948-1963);
*Johor - Sultan Sir Ibrahim Al Masyhur ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Abu Bakar Al-Khalil Ibrahim Shah (1895-1959) represented by his son, Crown Prince Ismail Al Khalidi ibni Al-Marhum Sultan Ibrahim Al-Masyhur (Sultan 1959-1981).